Staying Relevant

With age come gray hair, wrinkles, achy bones and stiff muscles but hopefully some wisdom too.

I was watching the MTV VMAs last Sunday with my son. And I thought to myself, ‘Nearly everyone who performed is young enough to be my child and I would be very upset to see my child on stage gyrating, bumping and grinding.’

music-notes

I started to post on Facebook that I clearly have aged out of the MTV’s target demographic and was having a hard time enjoying the awards show and put my status as ‘feeling old.’ But my son urged me not to.

I have been struggling these days with the thought of staying relevant. I struggle with the idea that I need to show ”them” that I am not of a generation that can’t contribute and that I can still bring knowledge to the table. Is it a real problem? I haven’t been told so but my perception feels real.

But a friend’s Facebook post the very next morning spoke to me. In her post she simply quoted scripture from Romans 12:2

Do not allow this world to mold you in its own image. Instead, be transformed from the inside out by renewing your mind. As a result, you will be able to discern what God’s will is and whatever God finds good, pleasing and complete.

So the wiser part of me has decided that I won’t watch the MTV awards anymore. I’ll take my gray hair, achy bones and stiff muscles and wrinkles and spread a little wisdom. The Bible is still relevant.

 

Leave a comment