Resolve to Read the Bible

In a little more than a week I will have done something that I have never been able to do before in my life. Actually it will be two accomplishments. First, I will have successfully completed a new year’s resolution. It was one I set for myself in 2014. And while I got a late start on it, I vowed to complete it. The second accomplishment was the resolution was to read the Bible completely through in a year.

Yes, I’m one of those people who vowed to do it for years. And each year I would start out strong and then taper off. But last year I was armed with an arsenal of high tech tools at my disposal and a spirit determined and eager to learn. With my iPad, my iPhone and my laptop, I had every device synced to my Bible app so that I wouldn’t miss a beat.

Now, I’ll admit I didn’t always understand what I was reading. On those occasions, I referred to various commentaries and dictionaries. And when my eyes were heavy, I let the soothing voice recording from Bible Gateway read to me. Even with having someone read it to me, I kept my Bible nearby. In fact this adventure prompted me to invest in a good study Bible.

I was amazed at that so many contemporary Christian songs are lifted straight from scripture. And it is interesting the number of wise old says that have come from the Bible.

I assure you it won’t be my last time reading through the entire Bible. I pray that what I wasn’t able to grasp and understand this first time around, the Lord will reveal more to me next time and the even more the next time and the next. What an incredible journey.

Author and Bible Scholar Everett T. Harris said, “No one ever graduates from Bible study until he meets the Author face to face.”

I encourage all believers to read the Bible from cover to cover again and again.

Leave a comment