The Holy Spirit and What Does He Do?

I remember when I was young and I would hear the older saints talking about the Holy Ghost. The conversation was either about being possessed by the Holy Ghost or being led by the Holy Ghost. I never quite understood who or what it was. And the mystery surrounding Him probably feed my fear of ghosts in general.

But as I have matured, I understand Him so much better. I welcome His leading, His encouragement, His comfort, and even His correction.

I’ve also heard the term Holy Spirit and Holy Ghost used interchangeably. For the sake of this essay, I will use Holy Spirit.

So what is the Holy Spirit?

First and foremost we need to understand that the Holy Spirit is the third person in the trinity. So the correct question is WHO is the Holy Spirit? The trinity is God the Father, the God the Son and the God the Holy Spirit. He is the comforter that Jesus spoke about and left behind when He ascended back to Heaven to be with God. (John 14: 15-17)

When you have accepted Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior you are then filled with the Holy Spirit. (Acts 1:8) He takes up residence in your soul.

What is the Holy Spirit’s job?

Among the jobs He has is to convict believers. Today it seems that sin gets glossed over. I know that times have changed and social morals are being stretch to the limit but sin is sin is sin. There is no big sin or little sin, but we as believers grieve God when we fall into sin. And the Holy Spirit will convict us of our sin. He will bring it to our attention. (John 16: 8)

Commercial break – I am as much a sinner as the next person. I want to make that perfectly clear. I am not speaking from a place where I think I am any better than anyone else. My past is far from spotless. But I have a Heavenly Father who has redeemed me. I asked and He has forgiven my sins. The job of the Holy Spirit is to convince me now not to sin anymore. It is an everyday job for Him. I think I keep Him busy. I might have some things under control with the help of the Holy Spirit but there are other sins that I commit. Remember there are no big or little sins. Sin is sin.

So I am convicted by the Holy Spirit when I have a less than kind thought about someone or something. It is not godly and it is sin.

He convinces me that I need to think on holy things. He convinces me to conduct myself in a godly manner and what to say. (Luke 12:12)

And finally, He comforts me. When I feel alone, the Holy Spirit comforts me. (John 14:15-18) He is our comforter. I am guessing there are times in every Christian’s life when they feel alone and like they are walking by themselves. Call on the Holy Spirit. He will comfort your heart.

He convinces us not to sin.
He convicts us when we do sin.
And he comforts us when we are lonely.

Leave a Reply

