Are We A Forgetful People?

I just love how the Lord can be gentle but firm in his instruction to His children. Recently He brought back to my attention that we must continue in the faith – at all times. He provided once before and He can do it again.

I am in the midst of another car malfunction. I recently paid nearly $600 in June for repairs. And it looks like this new one might be as expensive. I think it’s time for a new car. I realize my current car is 13 years old and that nothing lasts forever. But part of me thinks if it’s not one thing, it’s another.

Psalm 78 reminds us of how the children of Israel often forgot where their blessings come from.

“How often they rebelled against him in the desert and grieved him in the wasteland! Again and again they put God to the test; they vexed the Holy One of Israel. They did not remember his power – the day he redeemed them from the oppressor, the day he displayed his miraculous sign in Egypt, his wonders in the region of Zoan.” Psalm 78:40-43

But earlier in the chapter we read, “Yet he gave a command to the skies above and opened the doors of the heavens; he rained down manna for the people to eat, he gave them grain of heaven. Men ate the bread of angels; he sent them all the food they could eat. He let loose the east wind from the heavens and led forth the south wind by his power. . . They ate till they had more than enough, for he had given them what they craved.” Verses 23-26, 29

What a forgetful people. Do you know anyone like that? Do you know someone who has been blessed by God but rebels against him and forgets His blessings?

I pray I am not so forgetful that I am rebellious. But I do tend to get caught up in my day to day life and start to stress out a bit when something bad happens.

But this time I trust God and praise Him even in the midst of this latest trial. He provided once before and He can do it again.

Leave a Reply

