Who do others say you are?

Last time I wrote about self-identification. Who do you think you are?

Today I want to know, who do others say you are? What do people say about you?

I remember when I was young my parents always said to me, ”It’s not important what others say or think about you.” I’ve even taught that lesson to my own son. And while what other say about me does not defined me, it is important to represent myself – my Jesus – well. field of flowers1

I am curious if people will know Christ because of you. That’s a question we as Christian should ask ourselves. That should be our goal.

We sang it in songs as children. Remember, “This Little Light of Mine.” That song was talking about others seeing the light of Jesus in you. At Emmaus we sing “Let Your Light Shine Before Others.” Again, talking about others seeing Christ through you.

It is a big responsibility representing Christ. But it is an awesome thing when it does happen. There are some people who I know and I can immediately see Christ working in their lives and the love of Christ in the heart by their actions. I long to be like that.

I know I miss the mark sometimes of representing Jesus well because I get caught up in my own world and don’t see a need in front of me. Or I allow myself to be too consumed by the world.

But that is my goal – let others see Christ in me. I want people to see Christ is everything I say and do.

1 Peter 4:11, If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God. If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

