Five Ways to Connect in Your Church

I’ve been thinking about my church membership and connections lately. I changed churches three years ago because I moved. The church I previously attended was about 35 minutes away. I didn’t want to drive across town to get there. I used the excuse that it was too far to be very involved. When in reality, my heart just wasn’t in it. I was having a hard time making meaningful connections in the church. I felt as if I could be gone for a month of Sunday’s and no one would notice.

I have been a member of four churches in my lifetime. The church I grew up in as a child was mostly family – connections were built in. But I have been a member at three churches as an adult. Each time I look around at who is in my new member’s class – provided the church offers one. A year later I look to see who is still there. Oftentimes some of the people are no longer around.

The thought occurred to me that people can find it hard making connections in church. But when you understand about church membership and the great commission, and you take that to heart that you should get involved in your church’s missions and programs to show God’s love. Whether it’s feeding the hungry with a soup kitchen, providing clothes in a clothing bank, offering a listening ear through a Stephen’s Ministry program you are the hands and feet of God’s love.

So how do you make connections at church?

  1. First and foremost, understand that church membership is unlike any other kind of membership. As a Christian you are called to service.
  2. Find a ministry interests you. Typically churches have lots of different ministries. Finding something that interests you and get involved. If you see there is a ministry need in the church, talk to the pastor about starting that ministry. Create a ministry to fill a need.
  3. Take a class at the church. Many churches offer classes. Leadership training classes, Bible study classes, or spiritual gifts class. People connect with each other when they are learning and growing together.
  4. Attend your church’s prayer service. Nothing binds hearts together like praying together. When you allow yourself to be vulnerable and talk about your prayer needs and learn the needs of others, you begin to develop bonds.
  5. Join a Sunday School class. Adult Sunday School classes are mostly discussion around a book or scriptures. It is a great way to learn about new people.

Ephesians 4:16 “From Him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.

 

Leave a Reply

