Where Is Your Home?

I received word recently that the annual family reunion is coming up in August. That is always a time to reconnect to family, catch up with aunts and uncles, cousins – relations – close and distant. It’s a time I always cherish. In fact, I loved the fun so much that I volunteered as head of the reunion committee several years ago. It is a time to go back home.

But I recall a period in my life when I didn’t feel like I belonged anywhere. My mother had passed away and I was newly divorced. I didn’t have my mother to run “home” to and the house I shared with my husband was no longer mine. I had rented this small, little house that was cold in the winter and hot in the summer. I did my best to make it feel homey. But I felt very lost. I felt like a nomad and that I didn’t have any roots to anchor me. I felt like to could just drift away and no one would notice. And part of me did want to drift away. I didn’t want to hurt myself or my son but I did want to disappear.

It was a really dark time for me. Those thoughts occasionally come back to haunt me but I have a much bigger family – even bigger than the family I’ll see at reunion time. It is the family of Christian believers. And I have a home waiting for me in glory.

As the gospel singer Douglas Miller tells us in his rich baritone voice, ‘My soul has been anchored in the Lord.’

John 14:1-3 “Do not let your heart be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be to be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”

Leave a Reply

