The Subtle Sins of Life

Forgiveness is a tricky concept when you don’t realize or think you’ve done anything for which to be forgiven. Christians understand the concept of being born into sin, the fall from grace by Adam and Eve, and Jesus dying on the cross as a sacrifice for us. But do you realize how many times you sin throughout the day?

I have heard many people say, “But I’m a good person” as if those words mean anything. It is as if their actions alone on this earth exempt them from the need to repent and to be forgiven. But the subtle sins of life are so overlooked that we often don’t think of them as sin at all. But anything that goes against the love and compassion shown by Christ is sin.

I am a good person but I know that I have sinned when I’m driving in traffic and someone cuts me off and I wish that they would get caught by the police. Revenge is a sin. Leviticus 19:18 “Do not seek revenge or bear a grudge against one of your people, but love your neighbor as yourself.”

I know I have sinned when I get angry because a promise by someone to complete a task isn’t kept and it means I have to seek other means for completing that task. Anger is a sin. Colossians 3:8 “But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander and filthy language from your lips.”

I know I have sinned when I roll my eyes and mumble under my breath at the person in front of me in the grocery line who is chatting with the cashier and not moving quick enough for my sake. Impatience is a sin. Ephesians 4:2 “Be completely humble and gentle; be patient bearing with one another in love.”

I know I have sinned when I worried about how I was going to pay for that expensive car repair. Worry is sin. Matthew 6:25 Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not your life more important that food and the body more important that food, and the body more important than clothes.” And isn’t the body more important than a car (I added this).

I ask the Lord for forgiveness many times during the day. I ask Him to give me a clean heart and a renewed mind and to deliver me from my subtle sins.

When you commit your life to Christ your perspective changes. The standard and goal to be Christ-like is a daily journey that must be renewed each day. Let us keep in mind that the subtle sins of everyday life is a place to start.

 

Leave a Reply

