God As My Shopping Companion

I get funny looks when I talk about taking God shopping with me.

I used to love to shop. I apparently received that talent from my mother. But I didn’t always make wise choices about how I spent my money. As I grew in the faith and knowledge and understanding of God (and continue to grow) I know He makes the best shopping companion.

Without fail when I pray before shopping or spend any kind of money, God blesses me beyond my wildest dreams. There are so many examples but I’ll share three.

I remember having a pair of living room chairs. I loved the chairs because they were this cool, funky pattern. But the dog’s hair loved it too. They were so badly covered in dog hair that I was embarrassed to have people over. As much as I tried to keep them clean, they were like magnets for the hair. So I knew getting rid of the chairs was necessary. But I didn’t quite know how to fund that. I prayed about how to get new chairs. Not only did I win a gift card to a furniture store, the chairs were on sale enabling me to get two chairs. And they match the couch beautifully.

Even more recently I was in desperate need of a car repair. I was dreading calling the mechanic because I just knew it was going to be costly. Praying for the courage to do it, I finally called, explained the situation to my mechanic and he told he worked on another vehicle with a similar problem very recently. He recommended an alternative permanent fix that was less costly than a straight replacement part.

My final story is about a craft project that I have been working on and I needed a soldering tool. I searched the internet and found one but the shipping and handling cost drove the price up. The S&H charges were almost as much as the tool. I prayed before venturing out to a craft store. I asked if they price matched an online prices and they did. I got my tool much cheaper than I could have dreamed.

My point is to include God in everything – every part of your life even shopping – and He will bless it.

Proverbs: 3:5-6: Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

One thought on “God As My Shopping Companion

  1. Kelly Grace

    I’ve found a kindred spirit my friend!
    My Mom thinks I’m crazy when I pray for a parking space. I tell her, “You have not because you ask not”. When one doesn’t come available I drive to the outer edges of the lot and thank God for the chance to get some exercise.
    God cares about every detail of our lives because He cares for us. You’re right, He wants to be included in everything.
    Blessings on your Sunday 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

