Praising Him Through the Trials

I have to tell you about something that happened to me this morning. I was at work and I was listening to my music as usual. Specifically I was listening Israel & New Breed sing Your Presence Is Heaven. I was overcome with joy and humbled by thankfulness.

I can only say that I had a breakthrough moment for me. You see I have been dealing with this car of mine. It’s nearly 13 years old and I just have a feeling it’s about on its last leg. And I just haven’t had the guts to take it to the mechanic. My checking account is once again low. So I’ve been trying to figure out how to pay for it. And I have been praying that whatever is wrong isn’t expensive. Here’s the breakthrough part. Despite all of that, I was praising God through these trials, in my little cube. It brought me so much joy. I was thinking about His presence; thinking about His love for me; thinking about Him.

I have heard ministers for years and years talk about rejoicing even in your trials. And I always thought ‘how can I do that?’ When I have a trial I don’t curse the trial, I just accept it and say OK. I don’t get mad or ask why me Lord. I would just say OK, Lord let’s move on. Certainly I wasn’t praising. But this time, all of sudden, I felt myself overcome with joy and thankfulness.

I started crying and feeling very humbled by His love for me. I understood what this trial was all about. And I knew that He was right there with me. I was in His presence and it was like heaven to me.

That’s what will happen if you let Him into your heart – into your life. You will be able to praise Him even in your trails.

John 16:33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Now that’s worth rejoicing.

 

Leave a Reply

