When Temptation Comes

I am learning more and more about how much God loves me. I’ve been reading the Old Testament and the more I know about the hard-headed people of Israel the more I know how God gives grace and mercy for me.

I have always but jokingly said, “God when you’re talking to me you need to shout because I’m a little hard-headed.” But reading Old Testament scripture I think how much my hard headedness gets me into situations, trials and tribulations much like the people of Israel. I can’t blame anyone but myself. It is always easier to see that someone else should avoid temptation but I know I have to check myself with God speaking quietly to the Holy Spirit in me. And I know there is a way to flee.

We know that God made a covenant with the people of Israel. He established a few rules but it took no time for the people to forget about what God had brought them through and they broke those few rules. He showed mercy – held back what they deserved and extended grace – gave them what they did not deserve – on more than one occasion.

How else can I explain that when I do something I know I shouldn’t. I believe it was Paul who confessed that “For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me.” (Romans 7:15-17)

And oh the people of Israel were truly a hardheaded group of people that I can identify with.

But the good news – the gospel of Christ is that He provides a way to flee temptation and receives me back again, and again, and again.

I am dealing with an issue of life – one that has been and continues to be a hard lesson to learn. But I thank God that He rescues me chance after chance, after chance to get it right. He receives me back again.

Paul also said “No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.” (I Corinthians 10:14)

Praise God for His grace and mercy.

Leave a Reply

