What I Found During My Fast

I took the spiritual challenge to fast this week – Holy Week. I have never fasted before. This was the very first time that I can ever remember where I had to exercise self-control. I can’t recall that I have challenged myself before to withhold anything that I wanted. That might the reason for a lot of my situations – trials if you will.

But this week of fasting has lighted my load. I found myself praying more and asking the Lord to help me resist the cake or cookie or candy that I wanted. I prayed more and asked the Lord the help me resist the hamburger and the pizza that I wanted.

The result of this week was that I found I could deny myself of things and not fall apart. I found that I can call on the Lord to help me resist and He will. It has deepened my trust in God for more things.

Luke 11: 9

“So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.”

Leave a comment